Home Search Member List Faq Register Login  
UltimateMenu
Re: Menu stops working after opening a report from Reporting service

Thread Starter: kadams   Started: 09-13-2006 3:33 PM   Replies: 24
 Karamasoft Support Forums » General Discussions » UltimateMenu » Re: Menu stops working after opening a report from Reporting service
 Printable Version    « Previous Thread   Next Thread »
  13 Sep 2006, 3:33 PM
kadams is not online. Last active: 9/19/2006 12:04:35 PM kadams

Top 10 Posts
Joined on 09-13-2006
Posts 13
Menu stops working after opening a report from Reporting service
Hello,

I'm having a problem with the menu control. I'm using the frames example with just the horizontal frame and  main frame. All works fine when I link .aspx page or .htm page to the sub menu items, but when i try to give it a url to open a report from reporting service that opens in the mainframe the submenu disappears and stops working and will not drop down until  I click the Home button on the menu.

I guess the bottom line is the submenu will not drop down over the mainframe when the mainframe contains a report from reporting service.

Any help will be greatly appreciative

  
  13 Sep 2006, 4:42 PM
Karamasoft is not online. Last active: 5/8/2018 10:36:45 AM Karamasoft

Top 10 Posts
Joined on 09-05-2004
Posts 6,820
Re: Menu stops working after opening a report from Reporting service

The submenus will popup in the target frame only if the page loaded in the target frame is on the same server as the document accessing that frame (see http://www.karamasoft.com/Forums/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=23). Does your reporting service pages exist on a different server?


  
  13 Sep 2006, 4:50 PM
kadams is not online. Last active: 9/19/2006 12:04:35 PM kadams

Top 10 Posts
Joined on 09-13-2006
Posts 13
Re: Menu stops working after opening a report from Reporting service
Thanks for the response. Yes they are on the same server. I also experience the same behavoir with .aspx pages that were in a different directory in the same website. i had to place that page under the root directory of the website in order to get that to work.
  
  13 Sep 2006, 5:26 PM
Karamasoft is not online. Last active: 5/8/2018 10:36:45 AM Karamasoft

Top 10 Posts
Joined on 09-05-2004
Posts 6,820
Re: Menu stops working after opening a report from Reporting service

You should use absolute path (starting with "/") for ScriptPath, CssFile and ImagePath properties. Please refer to http://www.karamasoft.com/Forums/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=26


  
  14 Sep 2006, 9:56 AM
kadams is not online. Last active: 9/19/2006 12:04:35 PM kadams

Top 10 Posts
Joined on 09-13-2006
Posts 13
Re: Menu stops working after opening a report from Reporting service
I have changed to absolute paths and it's still not working.
  
  14 Sep 2006, 12:12 PM
Karamasoft is not online. Last active: 5/8/2018 10:36:45 AM Karamasoft

Top 10 Posts
Joined on 09-05-2004
Posts 6,820
Re: Menu stops working after opening a report from Reporting service
Is there a way we can see your page?
  
  14 Sep 2006, 12:32 PM
kadams is not online. Last active: 9/19/2006 12:04:35 PM kadams

Top 10 Posts
Joined on 09-13-2006
Posts 13
Re: Menu stops working after opening a report from Reporting service
Unfortunately the answer is no, it is an intranet site.

Here is the XML code:


<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>

<Menu xmlns="http://schemas.karamasoft.com/WebControls/UltimateMenu" ScriptPath="/DataMall/Scripts" ImagePath="/DataMall/Images/UltimateMenu" CssFile="/DataMall/NavBar/DataMallMenu.css" MenuCssClass="HFMenu" DefaultGroupCssClass="HFGroup" MenuItemCssClass="HFItem" MenuItemOverCssClass="HFItemOver" DefaultItemCssClass="HFItem" DefaultItemOverCssClass="HFItemOver" MenuItemHeight="20" DefaultItemWidth="140" DefaultItemHeight="20" DefaultOffsetX="-1" DefaultOffsetY="-1" TargetFrame="MainFrame" SourceFrame="HorizontalFrame">

<Group xmlns="">

<Item ID="Item1" Caption="Inside" ItemWidth="85" URL=http://Mywebserver2/default.htm Target="_top">

</Item>

<Item ID="Item2" Caption="Data Mall" ItemWidth="85" URL="default2.aspx" Target="MainFrame">

</Item>

<Item ID="Item6" Caption="Data Marts" ItemWidth="90" URL="default2.aspx" Target="MainFrame">

<Group>

<Item ID="Item7" Caption="Taxis" URL="http://Mywebserver2/taxisweb" Target="_top" ItemNowrap="Default">

</Item>

<Item ID="Item21" Caption="UI Benefits" URL="UI/UIMain.aspx" Target="MainFrame"/>

<Item ID="Item22" Caption="WSMIS">

<Group>

<Item ID="Item38" Caption="Report" URL="http://Mywebserver1/Reportserver?/DataMall Reports/UI Data Mart/SelectedJobSeekerServicesbyMonth-Report"/>

<Item ID="Item39" Caption="Graph" URL="http://Mywebserver1/Reportserver?/DataMall Reports/UI Data Mart/SelectedJobSeekerServicesbyMonth-Graph" />

</Group>

</Item>

<Item ID="Item27" Caption="Data Mall Security">

<Group>

<Item ID="Item28" Caption="Level 2 Report Access" URL="http://Mywebserver1/Reportserver?/DataMall Reports/UI Data Mart/Level2ReportAccessList" Target="MainFrame" ItemWidth="150" />

<Item ID="Item29" Caption="Level 3 Database Access" URL="http://Mywebserver1/Reportserver?/DataMall Reports/UI Data Mart/Level3ReportAccessList" Target="MainFrame" ItemWidth="170" />

</Group>

</Item>

</Group>

</Item>




Here is the CSS code:

.HFGroup

{

background-color:#9999cc;

border:1px solid #9999cc;

padding:1px;

cursor:hand;

}

.HFItem

{

border-right: #9999cc 1px solid;

border-top: #9999cc 1px solid;

font-weight: bold;

font-size: 12px;

border-left: #9999cc 1px solid;

border-bottom: #9999cc 1px solid;

font-family: Verdana;

background-color: #9999cc;

font-variant: small-caps;

}

.HFItemOver

{

background-color:#F1F1F1;

border:1px solid #CCCCCC;

font-family:Verdana;

font-size:11px;

}



  
  14 Sep 2006, 3:17 PM
Karamasoft is not online. Last active: 5/8/2018 10:36:45 AM Karamasoft

Top 10 Posts
Joined on 09-05-2004
Posts 6,820
Re: Menu stops working after opening a report from Reporting service
You answered to our previous question with "Yes they are on the same server", however, according to your XML file, you have two different domains for item URLs: http://Mywebserver1 and http://Mywebserver2. Which domain is your page in source target frame (the page you placed your UltimateMenu server control in) in and which domain is your report server pages are in?
  
  14 Sep 2006, 3:51 PM
kadams is not online. Last active: 9/19/2006 12:04:35 PM kadams

Top 10 Posts
Joined on 09-13-2006
Posts 13
Re: Menu stops working after opening a report from Reporting service
By the way the absolute paths fixed the 2nd problem of being in a sub directory, so thank you very much. The problem I still have is the 1st one when the report calls a reporting service report.

The Links that go to Mywebserver2 uses the target "_top" and takes it to a whole new url address where the frame is not needed. 

Mywebserver1 is where the control is and the Report server.  
<%@ Page Language="vb" AutoEventWireup="false" Codebehind="TopFrame.aspx.vb" Inherits="DataMall.TopFrame" %><%@ Register TagPrefix="cc1" Namespace="Karamasoft.WebControls" Assembly="UltimateMenu" %> Here is the code for the Top page of the frame where the control is:

<%@ Page Language="vb" AutoEventWireup="false" Codebehind="TopFrame.aspx.vb" Inherits="DataMall.TopFrame" %> <%@ Page Language="vb" AutoEventWireup="false" Codebehind="TopFrame.aspx.vb" Inherits="DataMall.TopFrame" %>
<%@ Register TagPrefix="cc1" Namespace="Karamasoft.WebControls" Assembly="UltimateMenu" %>
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
<HTML>
 <HEAD>
  <title>WebForm1</title>
  <meta name="GENERATOR" content="Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 7.1">
  <meta name="CODE_LANGUAGE" content="Visual Basic .NET 7.1">
  <meta name="vs_defaultClientScript" content="JavaScript">
  <meta name="vs_targetSchema" content="http://schemas.microsoft.com/intellisense/ie5">
 </HEAD>
 <body MS_POSITIONING="GridLayout" bgColor="#9999cc">
  <form id="Form1" method="post" runat="server">
   <cc1:UltimateMenu id="UltimateMenu1" style="Z-INDEX: 101; LEFT: 0px; POSITION: absolute; TOP: 0px"
    runat="server" CssFile="/DataMall/Navbar/DataMallMenu.css" MenuSource="/DataMall/Navbar/DataMallNavBar.xml"
    ScriptPath="/DataMall/Scripts" Left="0" Top="0" Height="25px" Width="100%" ImagePath="/DataMall/Images/UltimateMenu"
    UltimateMenuDesigner="http://localhost/Karamasoft/UltimateMenu/v3.1/Designer/UltimateMenuDesigner.aspx"
    SourceFrame="HorizontalFrame" TargetFrame="MainFrame" ShowPath="True" HighlightPath="True"></cc1:UltimateMenu>
  </form>
 </body>
</HTML><%@ Register TagPrefix="cc1" Namespace="Karamasoft.WebControls" Assembly="UltimateMenu" %>

<%@ Page Language="vb" AutoEventWireup="false" Codebehind="TopFrame.aspx.vb" Inherits="DataMall.TopFrame" %> <%@ Register TagPrefix="cc1" Namespace="Karamasoft.WebControls" Assembly="UltimateMenu" %>


<%@ Page Language="vb" AutoEventWireup="false" Codebehind="TopFrame.aspx.vb" Inherits="DataMall.TopFrame" %> <%@ Page Language="vb" AutoEventWireup="false" Codebehind="TopFrame.aspx.vb" Inherits="DataMall.TopFrame" %> <%@ Register TagPrefix="cc1" Namespace="Karamasoft.WebControls" Assembly="UltimateMenu" %>
<%@ Register TagPrefix="cc1" Namespace="Karamasoft.WebControls" Assembly="UltimateMenu" %>
<%@ Page Language="vb" AutoEventWireup="false" Codebehind="TopFrame.aspx.vb" Inherits="DataMall.TopFrame" %><%@ Register TagPrefix="cc1" Namespace="Karamasoft.WebControls" Assembly="UltimateMenu" %>
<%@ Page Language="vb" AutoEventWireup="false" Codebehind="TopFrame.aspx.vb" Inherits="DataMall.TopFrame" %><%@ Register TagPrefix="cc1" Namespace="Karamasoft.WebControls" Assembly="UltimateMenu" %>
<%@ Page Language="vb" AutoEventWireup="false" Codebehind="TopFrame.aspx.vb" Inherits="DataMall.TopFrame" %><%@ Register TagPrefix="cc1" Namespace="Karamasoft.WebControls" Assembly="UltimateMenu" %>

  
  14 Sep 2006, 4:45 PM
Karamasoft is not online. Last active: 5/8/2018 10:36:45 AM Karamasoft

Top 10 Posts
Joined on 09-05-2004
Posts 6,820
Re: Menu stops working after opening a report from Reporting service
Can you describe the path of your main frameset page (ie. http://Mywebserver1/...)? If you have two separate web applications for your frameset page and your report service pages, then you might need to define virtual directories in order to reach each web application from each other. For example, if your menu is in a different web application, then define virtual directories in IIS for your report service directory to reach ScriptPath, CssFile and ImagePath directories under the other web application.


  
  14 Sep 2006, 4:59 PM
kadams is not online. Last active: 9/19/2006 12:04:35 PM kadams

Top 10 Posts
Joined on 09-13-2006
Posts 13
Re: Menu stops working after opening a report from Reporting service
The frame page calls 2 pages in the same web application the HorizontalFrame frame calls the page "TopFrame.aspx" the MainFrame calls "default2.aspx".

Here is the Frame page:

<HTML>
 <HEAD>
  <TITLE>Frames</TITLE>
  <meta name="GENERATOR" content="Microsoft Visual Studio.NET 7.0">
  <meta name="CODE_LANGUAGE" content="Visual Basic 7.0">
  <meta name="vs_defaultClientScript" content="JavaScript">
  <meta name="vs_targetSchema" content="http://schemas.microsoft.com/intellisense/ie5">
 </HEAD>
 <frameset border="0" frameSpacing="0" frameBorder="0" cols="*">
  <frameset border="0" frameSpacing="0" frameBorder="0" rows="42,89%">
   <frame src="TopFrame.aspx" name="HorizontalFrame" id="HorizontalFrame" marginWidth="0"
    marginHeight="0" noResize>
   <frame src="default2.aspx" name="MainFrame" id="MainFrame" marginWidth="0" marginHeight="0"
    noResize>
  </frameset>
 </frameset>
</HTML>

  
  14 Sep 2006, 5:11 PM
Karamasoft is not online. Last active: 5/8/2018 10:36:45 AM Karamasoft

Top 10 Posts
Joined on 09-05-2004
Posts 6,820
Re: Menu stops working after opening a report from Reporting service
Let us rephrase our question: Is "Reportserver" in your item URLs (URL="http://Mywebserver1/Reportserver?/DataMall Reports/UI Data Mart/Level2ReportAccessList") a subdirectory in your web application or a separate web application? It seems that the pages under Reportserver might not reach the path you defined for ScriptPath, etc. Can you make sure that ScriptPath is accessible from one of the pages under Reportserver?
  
  14 Sep 2006, 6:04 PM
kadams is not online. Last active: 9/19/2006 12:04:35 PM kadams

Top 10 Posts
Joined on 09-13-2006
Posts 13
Re: Menu stops working after opening a report from Reporting service
It's a seperate web application. (Microsoft SQL Server Reporting Service) which is installed with SQL Server Database. Reporting Service allows you to author, manage, and deliver interactive Web-based reports.

The Url (URL="http://Mywebserver1/Reportserver?/DataMall Reports/UI Data Mart/Level2ReportAccessList") is the URL to a report that is on that website.

I've created virtual directories under the ReportServer website and it did not work.

  
  14 Sep 2006, 8:05 PM
Karamasoft is not online. Last active: 5/8/2018 10:36:45 AM Karamasoft

Top 10 Posts
Joined on 09-05-2004
Posts 6,820
Re: Menu stops working after opening a report from Reporting service
By looking at your XML file, it seems that it should be enough to create one virtual directory called DataMall which physically points to DataMall directory under your other web application. How did you define your virtual directories?
  
  15 Sep 2006, 12:11 PM
kadams is not online. Last active: 9/19/2006 12:04:35 PM kadams

Top 10 Posts
Joined on 09-13-2006
Posts 13
Re: Menu stops working after opening a report from Reporting service
I created the virtual directory as a directory located on this computer in "C:\Inetpub\wwwroot\DataMall\"
  
 Page 1 of 2 (25 items) 1 2 »
Karamasoft Support Forums » General Discussions » UltimateMenu » Re: Menu stops working after opening a report from Reporting service

You can add attachments
You can post new topics
You can reply to topics
You can delete your posts
You can edit your posts
You can create polls
You can vote in polls
Forum statistics are enabled
Forum is unmoderated

© 2002-2021 Karamasoft LLC. All rights reserved.